Starting on CCDA

Ramair2kRamair2k Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
I passed my CCNA back in March and now that I have enjoyed the summer off from studying, I want to move forward with CCDA. I work for a major MSO as a Metro Ethernet engineer and we have a design engineering team. Granted the designs are template based and once you create one, you revise to match the new customer, but I feel the CCDA could give me the upper hand if and when a design role comes up. It will also help me in my currently role to understand how my customer's networks are designed and what they are trying to do with our circuit. I am giving myself 6 months or less, hopefully I can pass it much sooner than later.

Can anyone share any helpful tips for the exam?

Comments

• SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    I'd check out the Cisco Design Zone lots of good stuff over there.

I studied the older version 873 but I found Diane's book to be great. I'd start there. The DA is much theory no real configurations but you'll want to be familiar with the technologies they discuss if your not already.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • Ramair2kRamair2k Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply and suggestion. I will check it out. Looking forward to knocking this test out.
  • RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What type of technologies can we expect to see on the CCDA?
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    You'll see your typcal routing protocols (ISIS, OSPF, EIGRP, BGP), IP Addresses, Security, Wireless, FHRPs, STP, Etherchannel.