Please help me set up a virtual lab

giantsalexgiantsalex Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Everyone,

I'm studying for the 70-290 exam and I'd like to set up a a virtual lab since I have no hands-on experience at all with Windows Server 2003. At this point my study materials have consisted of CBT training videos and *********** practice tests. Yesterday I downloaded an evaluation copy of Windows Server 2003 and installed it with Windows Virtual PC. I just configured the virtual machine as a domain controller so I could practice with active directory users and computers.

Can anyone tell me where to go from here? How do I create client computers and link them to this DC? Also I'm not sure if this is relevant, but I could not configure DNS while establishing the server as a domain controller because the setup wizard asked me for an installation cd which I do not have (I downloaded the evaluation copy of windows server 2003 from Microsoft's website).

Can anyone please help me set up a virtual lab or direct me to a manual or something? I've looked everywhere and can't find any step by step instructions on how to do this.

Thanks!

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Welcome to TE. Two things:
    - those stars suggest that the material you referenced is not fom a genuine source, possibly a braindump. Go to certguard.com to confirm
    - since you said you have no experience with Server 2003, why are you studying it? This exam is scheduled to be retired next summer
  • giantsalexgiantsalex Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the quick response.

Yes, it is a braindump. I'm working on getting some better study material right now.

The reason I need to get certified is because I have an interview lined up in October and the company uses Windows Server 2003. They'll be moving to 2008 in the near future but I know a manager that works for this company and he said I needed to get certified in a 2003 course before the interview.