Tell me how to start

johnbarleyjohnbarley Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Because I have zero experience and zero certs, I don't think I can go for the MCSA 2012 Server since there is very little material out there; I need comprehensive study books.

My plan is to earn an MCITP Server Admin on Windows 2008 since it only requires 3 exams (640, 642, 646). I can then simply upgrade to the MCSA Server 2012 with the 417.

This will have the added benefit of fluffing up my terrible resume since as long as I pass the 3 exams before July 31, I'll automatically earn the MCTS's, MCSA 2008 as well. Though I'm not sure if an employer will notice that it's really just 3 exams.

I plan to take one month of study for each exam. So three months for the MCITP/MCSA 2008 and then one more month for the upgrade to MCSA Server 2012 when hopefully more material will be out there.

Is this doable? Stupid plan?

Comments

• Vik210Vik210 Member Posts: 197
    With no experience MS exams can be bit challenging. Its certainly doable but need good reading and practicing. Have you looked at comptia exams? They seems to good options to start with.
    I started with MCSE 2003 exams but that was after an year of system admin job. I found my job experience very useful.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod