The computer that got humans to the moon

paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
I was just listening on news that Neil Armstrong - the first person on the moon passed away today. It made me think about how amazing that time must have been.

And as an IT professional, I couldn't help but marvel about accomplishment with the limited computing power that was available in 1969.

The computer used for navigation on the Apollo capsule had a clock-rate of 2.048Mhz with 4Kb of RAM. By comparison, the Droid 4 where I am typing this post has a 1.2GHz dual-core CPU and comes with 1GB of RAM.

Comments

• FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It is truly amazing to think about.
    Just wait, 30 years from now that droid will be an antique just like the computer used by the apollo. lol
  • synseqsynseq Member Posts: 123
    Yep the rate technology has been improving is quite remarkable. Neil Armstrong helped pave the way for future space exploration. Now a few decades later thanks to virgin galatic @ $200,000 a ticket you can fly into space for a couple of hours flight into space. To be specific it's a sub-orbital flight but none the less if I had 200k to waste that's something I would do for sure. icon_cool.gif Now that private corporations are building spacecraft more and more people will be taking those flights and as the technology improves the prices for these flights will start to come down.
    Life is not a gift for man, man is himself life, his wants and needs serve the singular purpose of existence, any man who loses sight of this and does not cherish life itself is in the hardest of ways.
  • DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It was amazing what they achieved with the computers they had. Things like non network between the commander modules and lander, meaning some data had to be read of the screen in one module and transferred by hand to the other terminals.