Passed the CISSP on August 25 in Vienna, Virginia - a note of appreciation

MainframerMainframer Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello. I'm a former long-time mainframe systems developer now working as a general IT consultant. As mainframes are becoming increasingly rare and elusive, I've been working to gain experience and credentials in IT security.

I've been studying for the CISSP exam for the past 3 months, at about 10-15 hours per week. During that time I lurked assiduously (say that fast 5 times) on the TE.net CISSP threads, and learned a great deal of information that I incorporated into my study plan and made use of during the test. I'd like to thank you all for that.

As for my study plan: I used Eric Conrad's CISSP Study Guide as a primary resource, with the associated online audio overviews and sample exams (with 500 questions). I also picked up Conrad's 11th Hour CISSP book to review highlights during the final week. I started to watch the videos provided by ISC2, but lost interest after a couple. Instead, I went through a series of online lectures provided by www.vte.cert.org that cover the 10 domains in 20+ hours. These are geared primarily towards DoD employees, but are quite well done and are available to anyone with a .gov or .mil email. I also signed up for the test question database at ccure.org. These have some wording issues, but do force you to think more deeply about the topic areas. I agree with Clement Dupuis that taking sample tests is the best way to study - when you miss a question on a test, you tend to remember it. For that reason, I picked up an older copy of Shon Harris's book for $5 or so to get the CD with 1,000+ sample questions - another fine suggestion someone made here. I was also fortunate enough to find a copy of the ISC2 Student Handbook on eBay, which has some bits of information ISC2 presumably teaches in their classes that I hadn't seen in other sources.