Picking a certification of many to choose from

dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all, i'm sure we have all suffered form this at different times. I'm currently struggling icon_redface.gif i'm a new System Administrator and have so many options for certs i would like to study/take and many projects that are currently going on that need a little bit of each skill. How to just buckle down and pick one?
  • CCENT1&2
  • RHCSA
  • VCP
  • Linux+
  • Server+
  • JN0-101
I also have a myriad of things i'm trying to learn like managing systems. Each time i start one track of certification i feel as if i'm missing out on another and start working towards that? Flip a coin icon_confused.gif:

Comments

• kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Pass on the Server+ as it really is just the A+ with more raid and server memory questions. I would focus on an exam that relates to the OS you are working with. From the looks of the tests you want to take I am guessing Linux so I would start there.
  • erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Make a list of the O/Ses you are supporting.

Then prioritize that list into what you see yourself supporting the most.

Since you sound like you're a Linux shop, I would start with Linux+. If Redhat is the O/S of choice over there, then you could look at the Redhat certs. If you think your Linux skills are that good that Linux+ would be too basic, then jump into the Redhat.

Whatever you do, concentrate on taking certs for the stuff you are supporting at your gig. E.g., if you're a Linux shop, don't get into the Microsoft certs (and vice-versa.) If you're not touching Cisco gear, don't go for your CCNA. Though I would advice to take A+/Network+/Security+ just so that you have a basic understanding of what it is you're doing (at the very least Network+.)
  • EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■