Passed CISSP today - CBT

chilipepperchilipepper Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
First try! I am tired and relieved, but want to post while it's fresh in my mind. And yes, I have had a glass of wine to celebrate!icon_cheers.gif

So many people here have helped me...I lurk, I tend not to post, so I want to give back a little now. I already have CISA and CISM, received those 3 and 2 years ago respectively. For me, they were difficult as well, but there was less material, IMHO. Exam questions were similar level of difficulty, and more conceptual. I think they were 200 questions, 4 hrs. So you had to move a little faster for those tests!

I started studying, lightly, 5 months ago and gradually increased over time. Read Shon Harris CISSP AIO first, in the order in which I could stomach it. The stuff I was good at first (BCP DR, Legal and Regulatory, App Dev, Access Control, Governance/Risk Mgmt, Physical Security) then the domains I was mediocre in ...arch and design, op sec, then the worst...telecomm/network and crypto. I supplemented with Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK, i needed to switch back and forth sometimes.

To really drill some of it into my head, I heeded someone's suggestion on this forum, and bought the kindle version of AIO and put it on text-to-speech and listened/read it at the same time. I also put the Shon Harris Mp3 lectures on my IPOD and listened to them - while running, or walking. My drive time is too short so that would not work. These ideas were obtained from someone on this forum also...I will post a link to the MP3's later. I think it's important to take the information in via different senses/methods for some people, so 'listening' was important for me. I also have a very busy house, so it helped to drown people out while studying.