Moving away from Windows to LINUX, careerwise

antielvisantielvis Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all

I'm a IT veteran with lots of experience in many different capacities. Currently, I'm a Windows Server guy (Enterprise) and I'm thinking of getting more into the Linux realm. I've worked with UNIX/Linux extensively in the past but that experience is now dated, but the CLI is still familiar.

Any thoughts on moving into a more Linux based career? Are their administrators that work on both platforms? Being familiar with Linux I recognize the learning curve is more drawn out than it is with Microsoft products. Certification wise, I think I'll take the Linux+ exam & then I'm thinking about the Red Hat Certs. Thoughts on RH versus the LPI? I have Solaris certifications but they are long expired and Sun isn't the company it was.

Comments

• kanecainkanecain Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am in the same boat. I would love to hear feedback on this.
    WGU - Bachelors of Science - Information Security
    Start Date: Jan. 1st, 2012
    Courses:
    Done!!!
  • KenCKenC Member Posts: 131
    IMO, you'd be better off go straight for a RHCSA (better still a RHCE) instead of Linux+, given your experience. I can't comment on Solaris as I haven't worked with it. I'm not sure what you mean by your UNIX/Linux experience being dated.
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you have Linux experience, skip Linux+ and go to LPI or straight to Redhat. Maybe the exam has gotten more in depth since I took it, but prepping for it taught me enough to be dangerous.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • BodanelBodanel Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□