O'Reilly In a Nutshell book

hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
I'm now in the market for my first "In a Nutshell" book. I'm not sure which reference to buy as my long-term goal is to get the RHCSA and RHCE, but I have no experience yet. I plan to test the market after my surgery in a few months.

I was prying on the UNIX in a Nutshell on Amazon. In my opinion, UNIX admins are hardcore, and I have utter respect for them. I plan to work with Solaris and BSDs whenever possible. I have been playing around with Solaris in VM for well over a month. I figured if Linux derived from UNIX, then I need to become more comfortable with UNIX first. However, the book is dated since 2005. Have yet found negative reviews. Seems like the content is still fresh as UNIX rarely changes.

Although, there is a Linux in a Nutshell book that is probably more relevant to my Redhat study, which I will be dealing with soon. The latest edition is 2009. Is the purchase worth it or should I proceed with caution as the content may immediately become obsolete? Let's not forget that some distro have their specific commands and syntax.

My only concern is that I may not need those references after all as I have the Internet and man command to find answers. Yet, I believe I will find it cumbersome to search around specific things on the Net when I can just grab a book on my desk for a quick look up. I would like your opinions on which book I should purchase or should I abandon it altogether until I gain experience.

DISCLAIMER: I also assumed both books have shell scripting, awk, sed, (and perl would be nice too) details. I am not talking about scripting from the command prompt, but creating the script files as well.

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Sorry to hear about your surgery, I hope you're better now :)