PMP requirements

steppinthraxsteppinthrax Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm relatively young (30). I've been a Lead Programmer analyst for 2 years for the state and a principal software engineer for 1.5 years with a federal contractor. I'm concerned that I don't fall under the required hours for applying for the exam. I have developed and designed systems and tracked those projects during my employment. I have also held lead roles.

Comments

• QuantumstateQuantumstate Member Posts: 192 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You do have to have project or program management experience, at a certain minimum to meet requirements. Will your company let you take on more responsibility? PMI will check, so if you don't have the hours might consider CAPM. Do you have a Bachelors or Masters?
  • steppinthraxsteppinthrax Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You do have to have project or program management experience, at a certain minimum to meet requirements. Will your company let you take on more responsibility? PMI will check, so if you don't have the hours might consider CAPM. Do you have a Bachelors or Masters?

I have a Masters in Applied IT and a B.S. in Comp Sci. I never had a project/program manager title. I've managed projects (mostly my own) and can represent these within the PMBOK lifecycle.

I prefer to do the whole thing PMP rather than the CAPM, the CAPM just looks generic and shows immediate inexperience....
  • universalfrostuniversalfrost Member Posts: 247
    sounds like CAPM is up your alley.... it is a good start towards the PMP and will help once you meet the contact hours and actual PM hours requirements. i would discourage against Project+ as it is not well know and while it is similar to CAPM as far as experience, the name recognition of CAPM will get you further.