PKI vs CA?

stopdroppstopdropp Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Maybe there is a simple answer and i'm just not grasping it. I'm studying for the cert and i test in 9 days. I have most of the concepts but due to my lack of experience in the IT career field i'm not very familiar with certificates and while reading and researching i can't find any defining lines between a CA or PKI. is PKI simply the idea of certificate distribution and a CA is the specific organization of people who distribute them?

Any help with this question would be appreciated.

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    That is basically my understanding. PKI is the infastructure that makes certificates available, usable and revokane.

A CA issues certificates.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Minor clarification - a CA or Certificate Authority signs a certificate.

Example - if I have a certificate that I want to use so that you can identify me. I would create a certificate signing request or CSR. The CSR is provided to a CA who will create a signature for that CSR and return back the certificate to me for use. If you trust the CA that I use, then whenever I present my certificate to you, the signature from the CA will let you know that it is my certificate because you trust the CA to have previously verified my certificate.

Caveat - not sure if this level of detail is part of Security+.
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    paul78 wrote: »
    Minor clarification - a CA or Certificate Authority signs a certificate.