Linux+ cert questons

recktechierecktechie Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Fw quick questions:

1.) If I have no experience in IT, and no prior certifications, will a Linux+ be able to get me a job?

2.)Will I be able to get a Linux+ w/o A+ and N+? I know its not an official pre-req, but I mean is the knowledge in A and N+ mandatory?

3.) how much is the pay range if you have no work exp, no other IT certs, just Linux+?

thanks

Comments

• neoteslaneotesla Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I might be wrong, but it could be that you seem to expect a bit too much from certifications in themselves. The short answers, 1. No, 2, Yes, 3. 0-0.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Certifications get your foot in the door for a first interview with a prospective employer. After that, it's what you have in your head and what you say with your voice that gets you the job.
  • recktechierecktechie Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    But will I be able to get a job? The cert must do something for me no? Then whats the point if not?

What is an entry level Linux salary?

thanks
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Certification are a way to show what you know and help hiring managers decide to interview you. Certs, like college degrees, are not a guaranteed ticket to employment.

Salaries vary based on the job, the business, and geographical region. You need to look at job postings on Monster, Dice, etc. to get an idea of salary ranges in your area and for what you want to do on Linux. You may find there there is no job postings for an "entry level" Linux administrator. It's just one of many skill that you will acquire. You may need to start in some other job and help out the more experienced admins and work you way into it laterally.
  • ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    What JDMurray said.
    recktechie wrote: »
    The cert must do something for me no? Then whats the point if not?