Confused on Certifications

Hello, (for those who dont know me)

I've been working in IT now for almost 8 years and started off in Desktop Support/Helpdesk - moved into the NOC at an ISP and proceeded into Managed Services (Cisco, Telecom) so I've gained lots of experience in ISP networks and installing Cisco gear. I am CCNA/CCNA Voice and ADTRAN certified.

My current role is a Network Administrator - They hired me due to my Cisco knowledge but... we dont necessarily have any Cisco "work" to do Basically nobody here knew Cisco is what it comes down to.
My roles are basically, Work escalated tickets for Desktops/Laptops, break fix, Active Directory, VMWare, Backups, Data Center type work (Servers and projects) and Cisco. I do about 20% Cisco now in my daily job such as documentation and fixing the occasional issue. Nothing like the MSP/ISP's i've worked for, very different in the corp.

My question is basically this: Do I pursue my CCNP? I've been thinking about it but with the little advanced Cisco work I do, I feel as if I might not use it to my full ability. I was thinking of going the MCSE 2003 route before it expires in July since our entire infrastructure is all on 2000/2003 Servers and we're using VMWare 4
I'm trying to see if I should switch my 'career' more toward the infrastructure engineering side vs the vanilla Cisco route...
Any suggestions?

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    drkat wrote: »
    My current role is a Network Administrator - They hired me due to my Cisco knowledge but...
    First, one reason Cisco certifications are in high demand is because they don't just teach Cisco. They teach networking in general. Once you know how to troubleshoot OSPF or BGP, it's straightforward to do that with any particular vendor's gear.
    we dont necessarily have any Cisco "work" to do
    The better question is, do you do much in the realm of networking (routing/switching)?