Question in regards to CCIE

ratchokeratchoke Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, right now I'm studying for my CCNA and my goal is to eventually get a CCIE, I know a long road ahead of me!

Now which degree would be best to pair with a CCIE? Right now I'm looking into WGU Information Technology - Network Administration B.S. program. Would this complement the Cisco Certification route and help prepare me for real world applications? Or should I look into Computer Science or Network Engineering?

I'm trying to plan my career and education path, so I'm trying to get as much information as I can. Right now I just do basic tier 1 desktop support for a major internet provider.

My goals are to help design networks, troubleshoot, and maintain. Any opinions or suggestions?

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    ratchoke wrote: »
    Now which degree would be best to pair with a CCIE?

Of those options, a Network Engineering degree would be the strongest pairing, a Computer Science degree would come in second, and A BS in IT would come in third. The quality of the degree is also a factor and you can easily check the national ranking online.

If your high school record was strong, you may qualify for scholarships. The college experience can be fun, rewarding, and a good way to make connections.

Meet co-eds, too. :p
  • nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    be careful, you may get yourself labelled as a "one trick pony" as they say. I myself have degrees in network engineering as well as my professional experience/certs. You should maybe consider another degree to complement your IT skills such as Business admin or project management degrees.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • ratchokeratchoke Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
    nel wrote: »