Getting certifications and degrees

klhatchettklhatchett Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Whenever I tell people that I plan on getting my Network+ and Security+ certifications within the spring/summer, I always get this look 0_o or icon_twisted.gif. and they tell me those are not going to benefit me much and to only go after the CISSP because apparently that's the only thing that matters in life (sarcasm), Just wanted to know how you guys felt on the subject? Am I wasting my time or am I being smart by going after certifications, because I thought that recently a degree just isn't cutting it and certifications and mostly experience are what are landing people jobs and internships right out of college.

I am an Information Security student by the way, so I can see why they make faces at the Security+ but it wouldn't hurt to try...now would it?
Look me up on LinkedIn, Lets Connect! http://www.linkedin.com/in/klhatchett92

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    klhatchett wrote: »
    Whenever I tell people that I plan on getting my Network+ and Security+ certifications within the spring/summer.. they tell me those are not going to benefit me much.. Am I wasting my time or am I being smart by going after certifications,
    That entirely depends on the role and level of position you want when you graduate. I never looked at government security roles, and CompTIA was too basic for the roles I was looking at. Figure out where you want to go, and then what you need to do to get there. Your path and goals may be totally different than those of your classmates, and that's alright. :)
    to only go after the CISSP because apparently that's the only thing that matters in life (sarcasm),
    If your classmates can qualify for a CISSP, that's really wonderful for them! Do the best you can with what you have to work with, and don't sweat the rest.
  • klhatchettklhatchett Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□