ICND1 Need a lab?

xkaijinxxkaijinx Member Posts: 90 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I just started studying on the ICND1 Exam, hopefully going to be able to put in about 4-5 hours per week on studying and plan on taking the exam towards the end of november / beginning December.

Going through forum posts, it sounds like ICND1 is all theory so I just want to ask straight out "Do I need to do any labbing for ICND1?"

After for ICND2 I know its lab all day everyday, but for ICND1 I was wondering if I need to go ahead and lab.

Thanks,

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Remember, the goal here really isn't to pass the test. The goal is to master the content and blow the test out of the water. With that being said, I used a lab for ICND1 and it helped a lot. You could use Packet Tracer and be OK.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • Patel128Patel128 Member Posts: 339
    A lab is not required, but I would say that it does help. I really like having a lab. If your just taking ICND1 to see if you like networking or if Cisco is for you then maybe you may wanna hold off. If you do want to go further in the Cisco realm then definitely get a lab.
    Studying For:
    B.S. in Computer Science at University of Memphis
    Network+
    Currently Reading:
    CompTIA Network+ Study Guide - Lammle
  • xkaijinxxkaijinx Member Posts: 90 ■■□□□□□□□□
    No no I fully intend on networking as a career, I was just trying to blow through the first test and than move into real labbing on the second.

However, I see what you guys mean and it makes sense.

What labs do you recommend creating for starting out with ICND1 ? I can download Packet Tracer and use that for it than.
  • IllumanatiIllumanati Banned Posts: 211 ■□□□□□□□□□
    xkaijinx wrote: »
    No no I fully intend on networking as a career, I was just trying to blow through the first test and than move into real labbing on the second.