How do I backup my IOS?

nava87nava87 Member Posts: 30 ■■■□□□□□□□
Good day everyone. I just recently purchased some Cisco gear to get hands on study for my CCNA. Right now I am trying to backup the ios of my Cisco 2610XM Router to the SolarWinds TFTP Server. I am using Putty for my Terminal.

After startup I type the show version and here the basics:

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.2(8r)
ROM: C2600 Software (C2600-IS-M), Version 12.3(16a)

126976K/4096K Bytes of Memory
32,768K Bytes of processor board system flash

I'm a newbie at setting up the correct environment so I can properly study.

If anyone can tell me step by step or point me in the right direction to how I can correctly backup my IOS so I can upgrade it. If would be gladly appreciated.

Comments

• oli356oli356 Member Posts: 364
    HD - Cisco IOS Image Backup and Restore/Upgrade via TFTP - YouTube

Some good videos out there on how to do this.
    Lab:
    Combination of GNS3 and Cisco equipment if required.
  • nava87nava87 Member Posts: 30 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you for this. Now do I have to have a crossover cable to connect the router to my PC in order to ping the tftp server?
  • MrBrianMrBrian Member Posts: 520
    Yea, you'll need a crossover cable between the router and PC (unless one of them can auto detect the cable type and change the pins used)..

So on the router, give the interface connected to your PC an IP and mask.. then manually give your PC an IP and mask in the same subnet.. Then try to ping each other. Once you have this IP connectivity you can use higher layer protocols to exchange things over that layer 3 path. Have fun tftp'ing!
    Currently reading: Internet Routing Architectures by Halabi
  • Michael2Michael2 Member Posts: 305 ■■■□□□□□□□
    MrBrian wrote: »
    Yea, you'll need a crossover cable between the router and PC

Can't you just use the rollover cable, if there is one?
  • phatrikphatrik Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□