Going for my MSIA from WGU... Current in unrelated 'field.'

AirborneToxicAirborneToxic Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all -

I'm interested in getting my MSIA from WGU. I'm into IS Security and I feel like it would be a cool field to get into... My undergrad was a B.A in Poli-Sci but my career options are limited here and I feel like branching into a field which is an interest of mine would open doors.

Right now I'm 27 and work in a mail room, obviously this isn't an ideal job but it's low stress, pays 40k, and would afford me a great deal of time to study.

Are there any WGU MSIA graduates here? How was it and what are you currently working? I figure once I graduated I could then work towards other certs such as Security+ (I could probably pass this after a week or two of studying) and then the CISSP.

Any suggestions, ideas, etc would be helpful.

Comments

• citinerdcitinerd Member Posts: 266
    I am looking into going back to WGU for my masters too. So I will be watching this thread.
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    My advice to you is get an IT job as soon as you can. I'm not trying to discourage you, but it's unusual to just walk into an IT Security job with zero experience in IT.

I believe there is at least one graduate from WGU's MSIA program and several that are currently students in the program here.
  • jmasterj206jmasterj206 Member Posts: 471
    Have you looked at their revised admission requirements?
    To be admitted into this online IT degree program, you must:
    • Apply for admission.
    • Possess a bachelor’s degree from a regionally or DETC-accredited institution.
    • Demonstrate IT security experience through at least one of the following three methods:
      • Have earned a bachelor’s degree in Information Technology with an emphasis or coursework in advanced IT networking or IT security that covers at least two CISSP CBK domains. (You can find the domains listed here.)