Options

Can I use a Windows 7 machine to study for the A+?

JupiterJazzJupiterJazz Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Right now I'm studying for the 701 and 702 A+ exams with a machine running Windows 7. I'm a few chapters into the Mike Myers AIO book and so far there's no problems. But I'm worried that somewhere down the line I'm going to need a computer running XP or Vista in order to practice solving some of the problems. Should I be worried? Can I study for the whole thing with just a Windows 7 computer? Or should I start browsing ebay for a xp/vista machine right now?

P.S. Torrenting a copy of xp/vista is not an option for me. I share my internet connection with my whole apartment building and the landlord cracks down hard on bittorrent users.

Comments

• Options
    Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
    I haven't taken the A+ exam in a long time so can't answer that question but if you're running Windows 7 Pro or Ultimate you could always just use Windows XP mode.
  • Options
    bub9001bub9001 Member Posts: 229 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I will say that there are specific Windows 7 questions, but they are more geared toward 32bit vs 64bit. It doesn't really matter, like Repo Man said you could always run XP mode from Windows 7 (Pro or Ultimate). I believe the practice test for Mike Myers books tend to be Flash driven, so it won't matter. But you do want to have a XP VM or something to look at if you get confused by the 32bit vs 64bit.
    “You were born to win, but to be a winner you must plan to win, prepare to win, and expect to win.” - Zig Ziglar

Goals for 2019: CEH, and CND
    Goals for 2019: CCNA or ECSA
  • Options
    rejazrejaz Member Posts: 44 ■■■□□□□□□□
    When I studied for the A+ I used Windows 7 Ultimate with a VM running XP Mode.

That way I can cover the differences between the OS's.