RHCSA vs. RHCE

jfieldjfield Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been a Linux SA for 2 years and have been using Linux since I loaded it off recycled AOL floppies back in like 1995. That said, the bulk of my SA experience was in a Windows/AD environment before my current position. I've built Hadoop clusters and dozens and dozens of VMs, I've applied security standards and gone through auditing. But I've never taken a Linux exam. My work wants me to go for a Red Hat course, and I'm excited but I'm having trouble deciding between being cautious and just taking the RHCSA course & exam (because I've never done a Red Hat exam before and have no feel for them) or going for the combined RHCSA/RHCE course (RH255). Would appreciate if someone who had a similar experience level before the courses (any of them) and took the courses/exam(s) could weigh in.

I'll also be studying from the recommended books in the weeks leading up to the course. I guess my big concern is, I know my way around these things but there are a lot of situations that I might not have encountered - my knowledge is grounded solely in my experience right now. If I never had to use something or if a problem never occurred, I could easily not know about it at all.

Comments

• nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    are the exams at the end of the course? if not Why dont you do both courses, then study the books and take the exams once you feel prepared? Theres nothing wrong with that.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I'd say that given your experience you should go for the combo course.
    But the best thing for you is to have a look at the exam objectives for RHCSA and RHCE:
    Red Hat | Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) Exam objectives (EX200)
    Red Hat | Training | Exam objectives