Options

Studying Software Before Hardware, Good or Bad

paulmoranpaulmoran Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

Just wondering if there are disadvantages to studying the software section of A+ certification before the hardware section. Is it a prerequisite to study the hardware section because many things i learned there will be referred to in the software section or are they not related much.

Also should i also then be able to troubleshoot most software issues without the hardware knowledge (assuming i studied hard)im using mike meyers book for studying if that makes any difference and i like to start troubleshooting software issues while studying the hardware section to build up my on the job knowledge so to speak, because id imagine that the software end of things will be more prevelant when fixing home users computers.

Just in case anyone's not familiar with the a+ cert its basically a pc repair course, the hardware section comes first in the study bookconfused.png

Lastly i have a decent amount of self taught knowledge on software (i can set up mail accounts,know alot of the advanced tools in explorer/firefox, can remove complicated viruses, can reinstall windows, have knoweldge of 95/98/2000/xp, can set up boradband/wireless broadband,know very basic network knowledge etc etc) How long can the average person with a similar amount of knowledge expect to take to study the software section.

And i have little knowledge on the hardware (ive replaced a hard disc and memory a couple of times without any problem, thats it) So long would a novice expect to take to complete that section.

Hours would be the best answers because 4 months could mean 1 hour a day for 4 months or 8 hours a day for 4 months.

Thanks and i hope i didnt ask too many questions all at once

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Quite a bit in your post and as a simple reply, I'd suggest reviewing CompTIA's Objectives - that will let you know what you need to know.