Couple CISSP Questions

wes allenwes allen Member Posts: 540 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hope all is well - first post here!

I studied for the CISSP off an on for a year or so, then lost motivation and put the book down in January. Got motivated again last week and decided to do Sec+ as a refresher / warmup. Picked up Darril's book Wednesday, read through it once taking notes on stuff I was solid on. Finished that Sunday afternoon. Reviewed notes Sunday night and Monday AM (in testing center parking lot) and passed with 850. Thought a handful of questions were not in the book or were vague/kinda dumb, but it didn't feel too bad.

So, now I am ready to pick up with CISSP again. I am self employed, so have to pay for everything out of my shallow pockets. I have the 1st edition Syngress study guide, but I noted they have a 2nd edition now. Is it worth it to buy that, or should I look at still using it and maybe adding a 2nd book? I like the Syngress pretty well - seems to the point and not too dry. Any other resources I can look into?

Also, for the experience requirement, I want to make sure I am correct in my calculations. I have been doing networking for twenty years now - security work has always been a good chunk of that time - Proxy/ISA/TMG, NT/Netware ACL's, router/switch ACLs, backup planning, securing wireless, installing firewalls, GPO, password policy, etc. If I estimate that I had averaged about 25% of my time on security over those 20 years, does that equal the 5 years they require? And, if not, what formula should I use?

Thanks much!

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,025 Admin
    Hi Wes. Welcome to posting on TE! :D