Help in Starting an IT career

biggishbiggish Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,
I am changing career, to an IT career. I am in my forties, which may be quite old, for such a move, but I am determined to do it. I have been building and fixing computers for friends and family for over 8 years now, so I decided to make a living out of it, after losing my job.
I just passed the A+ and I am now studying for the N+ exam. Can I have suggestions as to what I can do after, and how to get a job in the industry, as I keep getting knock backs at every turn.

I live in the UK.
Thanks.

Comments

• CiscodianCiscodian Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hello

I'm from the UK too!
    Changing careers is one of the hardest things especially as the UK is sufferring it's highest unemployment for about 30 years. I think alot of people from other countries don't realise how tough it is over here. Things are significantly easier over in the USA as i discovered recently.

My advice is to definately do the Net+ and then consider whether you want to focus on Microsoft or proper networking. I think the Microsoft path would open doors to you quicker simply because a lot of networking jobs in the UK require some experience. If you did an MCTS in Win 7 that would certainly help you in getting a job on say 1st line or even a repair PC company.

I reckon if u volunteer as well that would be cool (like 1 or 2 days per week if you can spare it) get some experience that way too and you never know if they are really happy with you they may decide to pay you for it full time.

Good luck!
  • halaakajanhalaakajan Member Posts: 167
    Learn everything you can possibly, Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 or 2012, (2008 will still be used for some time until 2015 prolly) Cisco Networking, ITIL terms etc.

Your current aim is to gather knowledge - not to take certifications - i am not saying not to take but it depends on your priority.

Fix your resume, cover letter and spread your resume.