Options

Help with my resume?

astrogeekastrogeek Member Posts: 251 ■■■□□□□□□□
I need some advice on my resume. I don't have a lot of experience but I'm sure I could do better. There are already some things that I don't like about it, but I'm just going to post it the way it is now and see what advice I get.

A little about me...
I've been working in a NOC environment for about 2 years. This company is contracted to manage the network of our customer, so we basically just make sure everything is up and running to keep the customer happy. Before this job I was a truck driver right up until the economy went bad and was laid off in 2008. Though I was a truck driver, I've always been a geek at heart and used this unemployment as an opportunity to make the career change I had put off for too long.

During my time off I enrolled in a Networking+ course and signed up for a CCNA Academy at a local community college. During the CCNA academy I also did a short internship which ultimately turned into a full time job. Since being hired I've also enrolled in a CCNA Security and CCNP networking academy. I currently hold CCNA and CCNA Security certifications, but not CCNP. I'm still working on passing the CCNP Switch exam, which I hope to do soon. I haven't taken the CCNP Route exam yet, but I'm not even ready for that exam anyway.

The only IT experience I have is with my current company, and as I mentioned in another thread I don't get a lot of experience where I'm at. We mostly just make sure nothing is broken, and we rarely need to make any major configuration changes. I'm having a tough time playing up my strengths and I feel the resume I have just looks very weak with no real "meat" in the center. I also don't really know how to play up any strengths from my previous job, I hate even mentioning that I'm a former truck driver because it adds the stigma that I'm probably not into technology, even though it's the exact opposite.

Comments

• Options