Options

Unhappy with MIS

ar_newbar_newb Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
First off, I am a long-time lurker of this site and I love it. Here is my story. I’m a 37 year old single male. I used to be a land surveyor. I have an associate’s degree in land surveying and an associate’s degree in liberal arts. The liberal arts degree was simply so I could transfer as a junior to a university. I am in my first semester as a junior at a four year institution. I am majoring in MIS. The degree will be a BBA in MIS. I hate it! Well, I hate the business side. It is very weak on the IT side. I kind of knew it going in but it was/is the easiest degree for me to get (least hours). I like the nuts and bolts stuff, problem solving, tweaking, that sort of thing. I also believe I would like IT security. I have limited experience and no certs. I read all the good reviews about WGU and it gets me thinking. I actually thought about WGU before I started where I am now. Will they accept me without experience? I see it says something about taking students with associate degrees. Can I learn the concepts through the online environment without hands on experience? I can say the MIS plan I am currently on would be just as easy online and just as helpful. Sorry about the long-windedness. HELP!

Comments

• Options
    HypntickHypntick Member Posts: 1,451 ■■■■■■□□□□
    They should take you with the associates, however since it's not a related field, that may be an issue. I would suggest, if you're looking at WGU as an option, pick up a couple of entry level certs. A+ and Net+ for example, fairly standard stuff and if you've got a little bit of experience, you'll breeze through. Those would help waive that particular requirement, although a recruiter would be able to tell you more.

As for learning the stuff hands on vs. online, with the online you need a home lab if you actually want to learn the material. I couldn't have passed CCENT or my MCITP classes without one.