Interesting rant about professionalism in IT

jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
If you are really bored, grab some popcorn and sit and read this rant What the hell happened to professional IT? - Overclockers Australia Forums

Good thing as a consultant, I get called in when my client's "consultants" break things and my billing hours rack up. icon_cool.gif

P.S. Kudos to the TE'r who posted the original link in another thread.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    If you think I'm some sort of uppity, pompous, self-righteous know it all, then you really don't know me.

That's exactly how I felt about this guy reading the rant.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Not sure if the writer understands the irony in writing a rant on professionalism.

Anyway, I don't think I agree with his conclusions. He seems to think that the problem is that IT departments aren't housed by collections of nearly omniscient generalists. I think that's pretty unrealistic. Some of the problems he talks about are definitely real, both with how larger shops are run and how vendors work. But I don't think specialization is the problem. People who know lots about lots have their place, but the model of teams of people who are true SMEs still makes more sense to me.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488