Consulting early in career

lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
Does it pigeonhole you and limit career options as time goes on?

I was contacted by a headhunter to do consulting for an application I have extensive experience in and it's very early in the talks but tentatively things involved include relocation, a "substantial raise", and working exclusively with this one product. I don't think I would take the position unless it literally doubled my current salary because frankly the product isn't that interesting and I wouldn't enjoy my job if that's all I did.

Does anyone have any similar experience or thoughts on the issue?

Comments

• martawmartaw Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    It is important to enjoy your job. I saw a job that made A LOT more than what I was currently making... I was tempted to try to learn that product. I then snapped back into reality that there was NO WAY I would want to do that for my job even if it paid twice what I was making (which it did). Working a job you don't like and diverging to a different path just for money does not make sense to me.
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You will need to answer this question:

How much is not enjoying your job worth to you in dollars per year?
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    Only you can pigeon-hole yourself into a career path that you don't like. If you don't enjoy it, change it now before all you get is solicitation for only that line of work. I know from experience.
  • lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    All good points made. It is very important to me to enjoy my job to maintain sanity so it doesn't affect other areas of life. But...I also think I could find things to enjoy in it if it met the threshold that CarlSaiyed touches on.

QHalo, what did you do to break out of your mold?
  • QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488