Passed yesterday 937

mwillmwill Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I thought it would be fitting to discus with everyone what I say on my exam and the study materials I used. Hopefully this will mentally prepare the future test takers out there.

The exam is most definitely passable! I know I freaked out over the score needed to pass. Its insane! But do-able. Just apply yourself and you should do fine. Let me give you some background information, and as you shall see you can pass this.

I have no prior experience with Cisco routers, besides in high school, but I do have experience with networking and hands on with network experience. I studied for 5 weeks almost everyday, close to 4-8 hours a day. Busted my ass off. Studied free time at work and at home and on weekends. Of course it wasn’t everyday but about 5 days out of the week I devoted time to study. So if I can pass this exam with no prior experience with Cisco and no online training courses or “Cisco schooling” you can pass also. You just need to devote yourself.

My exam study materials:

Boson router simulator beta CNNP with the Network Designer program.
Real Cisco 2600 router I took from work to study. (Honestly I used it one day, and then brought it back and just used the simulator)

Very good book- Sybex CCNA 5th edition.

Lots of practice questions from many different sources, including the ones that were from the Sybex book.

To re-learn my subnetting and to STRONGLY enforce it I used this site. http://www.subnettingquestions.com/ I strongly recommend this site as it helped A LOT!

Ok, for the things I saw on MY exam: