When's the best time to move on from a Help/Service Desk Postion

Hi all,

Just querying about when is the best time to move on from the Help/Service desk postion.

I've only been in my current role for around 3 months and currently am a Service Desk Analyst. I graduated from University with a degree in Computer Science; Majoring in Networks and Security not long ago, since graduating it has been the only position which I could land at the current time.

I have over two years experience working within the IT field and in my final year of my Bachelors degree was based as an Onsite and remote Engineeer for a company providing IT services to a variety of Small-Medium (20-250 users). I have also had past experience working as a Computer Technican and also have a great track record of providing excellent customer service skills.

The reason for this thread is because I'm becoming "Bored" of my current role; While it has been great to expose me to a large IT enviroment and also the ITIL procedures and standards which it follows however I am just doing minimal tasks "Remote desktop support and basic AD tasks". I know that I'm capable of doing more and also have the relevant skills to do so.

I've already studied and know the CCNA material and CCNAS material and have experience with configuring Cisco equipment and also a few years experience within Windows domain enviroments (AD,Exchange, Proxy's etc).

What do some of you think, 3 months to move on? I'm currently reviewing the material for CCNA and CCNAS so i can actually get the certfications to be able to "Prove" that I know the material.

What kind of roles should I look to move on to or do you think would best suit me?

All comments would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    As soon as you can.

If you are working and studying hard. You're skills will never match 100%.
    -Daniel
  • StussyNzStussyNz Member Posts: 177
    Daniel333 wrote: »
    As soon as you can.