skill and experience before VCP5

ryrovaryrova Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, fellow knowledge seekers,

Is it recommended I have some experience with a server OS(s) before i delve into VCP5? What would be some responsibilities for a VCP5 tech in the field besides creating the virtual environment/platform for VMs and maintaining them? If there is a particular skill-set or cert I should go for before this please let me know. I know networking and network storage is a big part of VCP5 from what I have read so far.

Also, pardon my ignorance but I am wrapping up my ICND2/CCNA this month and looking ahead to learning something I find interesting and would have fun with in VMware/VCP5. I am starting my research and learning some foundations and basics through the PDFs they have vmware.com.

Hope to hear from ya'll!

-RyRo

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to the forums! Hope you stick around, this place is a cornucopia of knowledge and wisdom.

Some OS experience is recommended, but not essential. You'll have a fairly steep learning curve, but you should be able to pull through it.

There's a lot to a virtual environment, ranging from performance management to planning to everyday administration.

You have some networking knowledge, so you are not a total n00b and figuring out the storage side of things for the VCP 5 shouldnt be too difficult provided you put in the due diligence.

For the VCP 5 and for ESX/ESXi administration in general, the Mastering vSphere 5 book is highly recommended. That book is worth its weight in gold. If you understand it, the exam will be a breeze (well maybe not a breeze, but fairly easy).

There are a lot of tutorials floating around the interwebs and numerous threads on this forum that are enough to get you up to speed. Do your research, d1ck around with the product and post up here if you run into any issues.