Passed my GCIH today!

azmattazmatt Member Posts: 114
I passed it with a 94 and have a smile on my face that should last the rest of the day :D

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Nice! Congrats on the pass!
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Wow, great score! Congratz! icon_cheers.gif

How long did you study for? Did you build an index and use both your practice exam?
  • azmattazmatt Member Posts: 114
    Thank you. I studied more for my GCFA and GCIH than I've studied for everything else in my life combined.

For the GCIH I took the course, watched the on-demand and then went through the books and created a ~30 page index which I used on both practice tests and the real one.

One of the SANS mentors I met at the course told me that he uses ~50 page indexes and although most would consider it overkill, it worked for me. Probably some of the best advice I've gotten and I'll do it for every SANS course I ever take.

Even after being exposed to the content twice, I was still picking up some things while I was making that index.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    30- to 50-page indices? Yeow! My GSEC index was 975 entries in two columns spread over ten pages, and that was taken from six books. I may have been able to squeeze out another 100-200 more entries, but at 106 entries per page I wouldn't be able to get near the size you are quoting.
    We're at the same number of entries, but each one of mine takes up the full width of the page in landscape mode. I have the topic, bk#,pg# and then a brief description of what topic is and maybe a command line example if appropriate.

It was not quick to make but it helped me and I needed all the help I could get :) I even took my final version to kinkos and had them bind it.

I'll take a few pics and whip up a blog post this week. Having someone show me theirs really helped me prepare mine and if I could help someone else that would be cool.