Zero to SQL

Ilitem2Ilitem2 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello
I'm new to the site and to the computing world.

I have been an electrician for over 20 years but since 2009 I haven't really worked much. So I enrolled in the local community college and after talking to a counselor I enrolled in the 1st of 4 CCNA classes designed "for people like me off the street" she said. Well the class was a hybrid class and was only 8 wks from start to finish. The 1st night 13 of us started and only 9 finished, 5 had previous computer experience 4 of us didn't. The class was fast paced and difficult to keep up with. We started out behind because on the first night of class, we were told which book we would be using. We had to read 2 chapters and do the Cisco exams. When we got to chapter 6 Sub-netting the teacher didn't go over the calculations until we were at chapter 10 and the next week was our final. So I started out with 87,86,79,83% on the 1st 4 exams and I finished with a 53% and I got a 56% on the final. The teacher was a very nice man but not a good instructor, he knew the material but could teach it to us. The highest grade in the class was an 82% so with the curve I got a C for a 53%. I spoke to the counselor and she suggested starting with the A+ cert and maybe the A+ networking then retrying the CCNA. Needless to say I'm lost and I'm looking to assistance in pointing me in a direction for the SQL certification.

Thanks

Comments

• MutataMutata Member Posts: 176
    Hello,

The post is a little confusing, as SQL and CCNA are two different areas of computing. SQL is Databasing , CCNA is more networking.

What sort of computer work interested you? Maybe we can assist from there. As a general suggestion most people with no prior computer experience start out with the A+, to kind of get the lay of the land.
  • BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□