Options

Comptia Healthcare IT HIT-001

minni14minni14 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
New here and I thought I would share incase anyone is interested.

I work for an MSP and we deal with a bunch of medical practices. I figured this would help me in my day to day job, and of course look good. I spend about 15 hours a week working in or around medical practices for about the last year.

I studied with Comptia Healthcare It Technician Hit-001 Cert Guide by Joy Dark and Jean Andrews. I also read the basic overview of every government site listed in the study guide.

The exam covers quite a bit of ground. Its a mix of law, security, best practice, project management, and networking. Don't skip out on reading basic project management guidelines and tools. The exam is more healthcare specific than computer specific.

It is marked as lifetime which is great, since this stuff only gets more complex as time goes on. By way of exams, It was actually a bit difficult. I got 900's on the practice exams, but on the actual exam I got a 699.

Best advice, read the whole book, check the Gov't websites, check wikipedia for project management and be careful to check the charts and stuff out. Also remember most limited amount of PHI disclosure is best. Don't stop working if things get crazy in the ED or anywhere. Don't talk to or look at patients unnecessarily, know how long hipaa documents get stored, general medical records get stored, birth records, and dental records. Know what the heck a phlebotomist is.

Its a strange Cert, the test place never heard of it, but strangely my employer did. It is one of those ones that I have no idea if it has a general value, but I learned a bit, and my employer liked it.

Good luck!

Comments

• Options
    NetAdmin2436NetAdmin2436 Member Posts: 1,076
    Thanks for the update. What practice tests did you use?

I'm scheduled to take in another month. I've read the whole book and am gonna read the healthcare chapters again.