Too many to choose from

LexxdymondzLexxdymondz Member Posts: 356
I am a complete Linux newbie and just see too many different kinds of linux to choose from. I did look at the comptia objectives for the linux+ cert and they didn't specify a "flavor" of linux in particular that I could see. Could anyone help me out as to give some advice in choosing 1 or 2 to get the hang of???? I would like to just use them to learn linux and have enough knowledge to pass the linux+ cert. Probably in the future once I have some time invested and ALOT more experience with it I would go for other certs.

Thank you

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    I agree there are simply too many... but I think RedHat is the wisest choice. Besides it being rather standard, it might show useful when you decide to go for the RHCE exams...
  • nethersdenizennethersdenizen Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    There are a lot to pick from, try www.linuxiso.org and it has most for download.

I would go with RedHat when you study for Linux+ because even though it's a neutral exam it has some references and even maybe a question or two on RedHat stuff, like how to install, uninstall, update, verify RPM packages from console. RPM=RedHat Package Management(I think, my best guess). Also some debian package questions too.

I am going to be taking my Linux+ exam in about a 2 or 3 weeks, I'll will post my experiance on here and then you can check it out if you haven't taken yours yet.

I got the Exam Cram book a few days ago and read it over once already, Linux+ just scatches the surface and is fairly basic, a lot of questions are just hardware or network questions. This is good if you want to pass but not too good to use as a certification to get a Linux admin job, but it's a good start. More advanced ones are available from other vendors.