Options

Planning on going for the JNCIE-ENT. Recommended study materials / lab setup

tim100tim100 Member Posts: 162
I am starting a new job for a consulting company that focuses primarily on Juniper technologies. I want to go for the JNCIE-ENT and would like some insight. Along with real world experience I'm looking for recommendations on workbooks and getting a lab setup. What "low cost" models of routers / switches are recommended for a lab setup? I hear GNS3 can be used but what are its limitations? Can a full blown lab be set up using GNS3 or another emulator? I'm pretty new to the Juniper realm so any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Corndork2Corndork2 Member Posts: 266
    Im a big fan of bare metal hardware vs GNS 3. I know its more costly and bulky, but I like labbing on the exact stuff I'll be expected to work with.

That being said Id reccommend you look into the J series. I have gotten quite a few J2300's for $100 on eBay. There are also higher priced and more advanced models in the J series.

If you have a little cash to spend you could also look into an M10 chassis. Theyre suprisingly inexpensive given what they are, however be prepared to drop $500.

If youre set on virtualization, the "Olives" can be built in VMware or VirtualBox
    Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
    CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
    Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU
  • Options
    tim100tim100 Member Posts: 162