Linux Experience

nb-nb- Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi

I'm a danish IT-Supporter student, at school we just finished 3 weeks of our first linux classes.

We worked with CentOS, and learned the basics, like how to navigate, edit files, create and moderate users and groups etc.

We've installed and configured the following services whilst working with linux:

DNS
DHCP
FTP
APACHE
Samba
Mailserver
Webmail
Firewall & IPTables

Ive kinda fallen abit in love with linux, and would like to study further. Having been through the past 3 weeks, i wouldent consider myself a complete newbie, but i don't consider myself experienced either. What kind of certificates could i take? What would the price be etc.

Are there in general any reading material you could suggest me to read? I dont wanna start from scrath learning the stuff i already know bur instead build further on the knowledge i already have.

Regards
NB-

Comments

• log32log32 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 217
    Hi
    Any book for beginners will start off with the basics, File hierarchy standard, partitioning, file editing, log viewing, commands, so on and forth.
    I think that if you have the basics to navigate in a system and know how the system is built from the moment you press power button until the GUI is loaded (Runlevels, init scripts, grub loader, etc) then you're set to start with a Linux certificate if that is what you're passionate about.
    you have 2 popular certification roads.
    Red Hat & LPI.
    Red Hat locks you to a specific vendor (Red Hat Enterprise Linux distribution) - and their exams are hands-on and not multiple answers (also - abit more expensive)
    LPI is not vendor specific which means you will be tested on Ubuntu/Debian & Red Hat systems together but their exam is a multiple answers exam unlike red hat's.