confused....advice plz !

kaynaankaynaan Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
hi guyz. need some advice ?????

i've got to ask this..although no doubt..most of u have been asked this question too many times by too many newbies.... (don't blame us ,we each think our situation is unique !)

i just got my CCNA very recently (a few dayz), first i was planning to go 4 CCSP but after reading some of the posts on these forums and searching about the certifications i have decided to go the CCNP route.

my reasons... im planning to go into the security side eventually, but i want the knowledge that goes with the CCNP, and since i have no experience working with Computer networks (still an undergrad !, but not 4 long). i thought the CCNP will get me more grounded on the technology and concepts.

so b4 i cast off for CCNP-land, just wanted some advice from the senior members..who have done this cert. how much do u think the CCNP will help me in my goal of pursuing .. specialization in Security ?, do u think i can do without it ?, employment is not my current focus but knowledge wise what cert is more suitable after the CCNA ?

sorry 4 long the post.....
God give me the serenity to accept the things that i cannot change...and the courage to change the things i can....and the wisdom to know the difference.

Comments

• rossonieri#1rossonieri#1 Member Posts: 799 ■■■□□□□□□□
    hello,

if you dont have any experience in "real" network - then how would you determine your need in security knowledge? a lab maybe ok - but you need to keep pace with other peoples opinion about this and that - why this and that, how to do this and that - etc.. get a lot of discussion, maybe?

cheers...
    the More I know, that is more and More I dont know.
  • kamal_n_mkamal_n_m Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi,