BGP - Advertise loopback

FrankGuthrieFrankGuthrie Member Posts: 245
Hi all,

I'm studying BGP and using IP Experts CCNP Route on demand video.

Now the instructor is showing an example of confguring BGP and he's using BGP to advertise the loopback address of the Router.

My question is, why would you choose using BGP to advertise the loopback, and not the IGP running in your AS? So what is the advantage of doing this?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    You usually wouldn't see this in the real world. People usually put loopbacks in for labs to have extra networks to advertise.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • FrankGuthrieFrankGuthrie Member Posts: 245
    Ah oke, thanks for explaining.

Further down the video you can see this is not working as he already has advertised the loopback via OSPF, and thus the BGP route is not choosen over the lower AD of OSPF. I guess he was just making a point (BGP failure). :)
  • xXErebuSxXErebuS Member Posts: 230
    Ah oke, thanks for explaining.

Further down the video you can see this is not working as he already has advertised the loopback via OSPF, and thus the BGP route is not choosen over the lower AD of OSPF. I guess he was just making a point (BGP failure). :)

He isn't trying to do BGP load sharing is he?
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Even if are going to do load sharing you aren't going to want to put the loopback you use in BGP. You don't want to form an adjacency with an address learned via BGP. You can start running into recursion problems at that point.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • xXErebuSxXErebuS Member Posts: 230
    Even if are going to do load sharing you aren't going to want to put the loopback you use in BGP. You don't want to form an adjacency with an address learned via BGP. You can start running into recursion problems at that point.