Failed 70-432 today

NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
Came out with a score of 466. Ironically, I felt pretty good about my answers while taking the test.

I believe the reason I failed was due to lack of practice on my part. I studied a lot and did lots of practice tests but ultimately I did not spend enough lab time. My work experience and studying carried me through installing and configuring, maintaining instances (and databases) and optimizing sql server performance.

However, I scored low in managing security, monitoring and troubleshooting (which I thought I had a good handle on?!) and implementing HA.

I feel like the test itself was fair and the results per domain are pretty accurate with how I would appraise my experience and skillset. The questions were difficult and the answers very detailed /specific but they were not worded to be confusing or misleading.

I'll use this as an opportunity to redouble my efforts with a lab setup and hopefully slay the beast next time!

Edit: For study I used the MS press book by Mike Hotek w/measureUP practice tests, Real world skills MCTS book by Tom Carpenter, and SQL Server administration in action by Rod Coolige. I read all three books cover to cover.
When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Started studying tonight with fresh VMs.

I created 3 server 2008 VM's on my macbook with sql server 2008 installed. I also created another 2008 instance to act as a DC. With this config, I will set up each form of database mirroring and try every scenario I can think of. Then I'll un-do it all and try log shipping, then replication. I have worked a lot with replication in the past but I don't want to miss anything this time!