How do you know when you're ready to take it?

ch1vasch1vas Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I've been studying for 2 months now, for the CCENT. I feel very comfortable BUT every time I go back over the stuff I didn't touch for a while (theory) I always find material I already forgot about.

So my question is how did you know when you're ready? I didn't invest in practice exams yet as most of them are just way to expensive (feel free to proof me wrong)

Any advise highly appreciated.

Thank you,

**EDIT***

Oh and is their a list available with the contents tested at the exam? I already read the ICND2 book and it's hard to separate what I need to know for the ICND1 and what not.. I know I'll need to know all the rest for ICND2 anyways, but for now I'd be happy to leave my brain with the ICND1 stuff and concentrate on it. I know on the CISCO page I can look up the broad topics, but nothing specific like what protocols do I need to know in and out for ICND1.. what routing protocols etc.

Thanks again
Goal 2013: CCENT (x); CCNA(x); Security+(x); ITIL Foundation ( )

Comments

• RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Take a practice exam.

That's how most people judge if they're ready or not. Othertimes, you just gotta roll a hard 6 and seat the test. I did the later because I felt confident - failed :P
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• jsb515jsb515 Member Posts: 253
    practice test and study the weak areas and then go for real exam.
  • oli356oli356 Member Posts: 364
    I just knew when I was ready. I didn't do any practice exams or anything, I just felt like I knew the content.

I don't think there is anything apart from the exam content: 640-822 ICND1 - IT Certification and Career Paths - Cisco Systems but for routing protocols it mentions RIP, it doesn't mention OSPF or EIGRP as does the ICND2 exam.