Bootcamp vs Time

thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
Hey guys, I am planning to get my CCNP R&S, but with my current job it is going to be tough. I travel a lot, and I work as a network engineer (wireless). Therefore, studying for my CCNP would be impossible. I could self study, but it has has been over a year now since I started studying for ROUTE exam, and took the test last month and failed it. With my current job, it would take me forever to get my NP.
Now, I thought of to take a two weeks vacation and attend the ROUTE and SWITCH bootcamp for $6000. TSHOOT is another $3000 so if I can pass the ROUTE and SWITCH, I should be able to pass TSHOOT. Another $3000 is a lot of money already. Well, I sent an email to the bootcamp customer service about how much would it cost me to take their CCNP bootcamp and I haven't heard from them yet.

I am going to pay this myself since my company is not going to pay for it (not job related). My passion is in R&S and really would like to get it, and I know it would help me with my career down the road. I think it is a good investment for my career since time is my enemy right now.

Guys what's your opinion?

Also, can you guys recommend a great place to take bootcamps? If the location is in MD, that would be awesome. I think they would provide hotels and food, but not 100% sure yet.

Studying:
Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
Reading:
Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold

Comments

• SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    Bootcamps are rough. My previous employer sent me to a NP bootcamp a few years ago It was 2 weeks constant study.