Security certifications to start with? (Some restrictions)

weenercowweenercow Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey, I just registered here so Im a little new to the rules so please go ahead and tell me if I am breaking any. My dream is to become a Pentester, but Im too young to take many of the certifications because of the prerequisites such as 2 years of IT experience to take CEH. I did read the sticky thread about certifications about this/similar lines of work, but it the OP had more experience than me, and was obviously older than me. Another reason I did not post this in the sticky is because I was a little reluctant about reviving a thread that had no activity in a month, but I have no idea whether that is acceptable here or not.

So my questions are what certifications I can take, that require no previous IT jobs (If any). And if there are none, what should I start studying for, keeping in mind that I have having no certifications. I guess it would also be helpful to know what experience i have with computer security. The only programming language I currently know is C, but I am planning on learning more. I know a little bit about Web application security, but I know more network Pentesting. If you need to know any more of the experience I have with computers feel free to ask.

Comments

• IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi and welcome to TE! As far as I know, you can revive any thread unless it is specifically locked by the admins. Regarding security certs, CompTIA Sec+ is probably your best bet as an entry-level, vendor-neutral cert. With that in mind, I would also encourage you to to learn and possibly get certified in the underlying areas you plan to pentest, ie networks (Comptia Net+, CCNA). You will certainly need Unix/Linux knowledge and the CompTIA Linux+ is a good start. The more experienced TE members will give you more information.
    Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
    Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]