I'm a CCNP at last

MrBrianMrBrian Member Posts: 520
Had my TSHOOT exam today and passed!! Got a 986/1000, but got all the trouble tickets right.

Started my CCNP journey right after I got my CCNA in August 2011, so well over a year, and now I finally made it. Feels great! I was looking back for a thread from August 2011 where I claimed I would complete ROUTE in a month or something like that, which was right when I started studying for it. And then said that I'd get the CCNP in 3-4 months total time (with no real experience). I said that because I had the most motivation/determination in the world at that point. And the summer was all mine (no job/school), so I believed I could do it. It's pretty laughable that over a year has passed since then, but I'm happy I reached my goal. I couldn't go back far enough to find that post, but I did find a thread where I was eating my words after going at it hard for a month's time.

So anyone trying to blaze through these exams might want to take notice, that it's not gonna be that easy! I was studying 8 hrs a day for all of August 2011 (but if you have experience or are a flat out genius anything's possible. I just wanna give you my experience):

http://www.techexams.net/forums/ccnp/69661-my-route-progress.html#post560398

Now I'm trying to figure out what's next. I'll probably take a break for a few weeks, but after that some thoughts are CCNA-V, CCNA-S, JNCIA-Junos, read BGP then MPLS books, or possibly the OSCP. Was thinking about that last one because I figure having those skills will help me better understand the importance of locking down the network/end stations. And it would help me branch out a bit.

And thank you to everyone on the forum because I've learned a ton of stuff from the people here and received valuable advice.
Currently reading: Internet Routing Architectures by Halabi

Comments

• jdballingerjdballinger Member Posts: 252