Options

Total newbie here. I am going for MCSA, however, the MCSE

madboymadboy Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys...

i've noticed you have combined the MCSA/MCSE in one forum. I am a newbie to this, so i thought i'd ask some questions. By the way, this forum is great!

Question 1. Is this because the three exams that need to be taken for MCSA are also needed within the MCSE?

I am going for MCSA first, because i have the Net+ and A+, and only want to stay as a network admin (which i've recently been promoted to), and well, who knows.

Question 2. I am assuming the MCSE is better looking on a resume (amongst teaching you how to be an engineer of networks??)
Just wondering what the major differences are.

Question 3. Now that i have access to Windows 2003 server, I might take one of the server exams first in the MCSA series (as opposed to installing Windows XP Pro topics). Of the two Windows 2003 Server topics, which one makes more sense to take first?? I am assuming 70-290, and then 70-291, and then i intend to take 70-270. Would you recommend this?

Question 4. From your experience, what's the best book to purchase for studying for MS exams??

Sorry for the bombardment. Much Love!

Comments

• Options
    eurotrasheurotrash Member Posts: 817
    1. does it matter why the forums are merged?
    2. differences: mcse / mcsa.
    3. i'd take the 291 after both 270 and 290.
    4. i personally like Syngress, though i haven't tried the others like Sybex and MS press.
    witty comment
  • Options
    IT_AdminIT_Admin Member Posts: 158
    Q2: the biggest difference between MCSA / MCSE is that mcse is more recognized by employers. for some reason "not sure why" but mcsa never really took off. it is still popular but no where near the mcse cert.

Q3: I would have to agree i would take 70-270, 70-290, 70-291. Although I didnt do it that way, I jumped all over the place, but i wish i did them in order. it makes more sense to follow them in order.