ACL vs Routing Protocols

Christopher DobkowskiChristopher Dobkowski Member Posts: 98 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi there fellows! icon_cheers.gif

I'm studying for my CCNA and I just finished the ACLs and I thought to experiment and what I came up with is to create an extended ACL that will deny Rip (port 520) from sending updates to a router on the far end of the link, the IPs are point-to-point 10.0.0.0/30 and what I want to do is:
Router 1 = FastEthernet 0/0 IP address -> 10.0.0.1/30 and Rip running (no-autosummary and ver is 2)
Router 2 = -||- -||- IP address -> 10.0.0.2/30 and Rip running (-||-)..
On both Routers I have one Loopback interface 0 with another network that I advertise over RIP.

Ok I set everything up the Rip works and the networks are advertised correctly. Now what I want to do is to set an access list on the Router 1 interface as Outbound to DENY Rip updates from going out that interface, I don't want to set it on the Router 2 as Inbound.

Can anyone tell me the ACL syntax to do this? I believe I need to use RIPs multicast but I'm not sure icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Dan-HumphreysDan-Humphreys Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Don't count on this being accurate, but I believe the updates are UDP so I'm guessing the syntax would be,

deny udp any any eq 520
  • Christopher DobkowskiChristopher Dobkowski Member Posts: 98 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Don't count on this being accurate, but I believe the updates are UDP so I'm guessing the syntax would be,

deny udp any any eq 520

Nope, still not working icon_sad.gif
    Thanks for help though, appreciate it! icon_thumright.gif
  • Dan-HumphreysDan-Humphreys Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    try tcp instead of udp? or add the same line for both

so deny udp any any eq 520
    deny tcp any any eq 520
  • ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Outbound ACLs don't filter router generated traffic. You'll have to do it inbound on the other router. Or you could deny everything outbound with a distribute-list.