CCNP: Security before CCNP R/S?

YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hi all, quick question for you: Would I be doing things bass ackwards if I obtained a CCNP Security prior to covering CCNP R/S topics? Shortly I will be starting a position in security with emphasis on the network security devices. I would like to pursue the CCNP: Sec credential this year but I'm not sure if I would be better off studying NP R/S topics first.

Comments

• ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    My opinion is that they are different tracks and have little dependency on each other. As an example, I am an enterprise sysadmin and CCNP:S is right up my alley. OTOH, I have no plans to do CCNP:R/S, as the routing part of it is not relevant to my daily job.
    “You don’t become great by trying to be great. You become great by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.” (c) xkcd #896

GetCertified4Less
    - discounted vouchers for certs
  • YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Thanks ChooseLife. That's sort of what I was hoping for. CCNA Sec did not dive as deep as I was hoping, and I am eager to get into CCNP: Sec material in the next few months.
  • IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    YFZblu wrote: »
    CCNA Sec did not dive as deep as I was hoping

I'd love to be able to say that - good luck @YFZblu with the CCNP:Sec! icon_thumright.gif
    Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
    Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]
  • DiZzDiZz Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□