Becoming good at Cisco without a lab?

newffnewff Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm completely new to IT, but a fast learner with technology. I was under the impression I could study hard and get the certificates but then I see the lab threads, looked up the prices of some of the stuff and well..I won't be able to afford that type of stuff.

Is a lab like that a must for someone who later wants to work with Cisco products? Or are there other ways to get familiar with it or study and still be competent when hired?

Comments

• alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you have little or no experience with real gear, there's a lot of benefit to getting a couple items for home, even if it's just a couple 1600 routers and 2900XL switches that you can find for $5 on eBay. But there's other alternatives like Packet Tracer and GNS3 as well to learn on.
  • MickQMickQ Member Posts: 628 ■■■■□□□□□□
    There are software simulators out there.
    An emulator like GNS3 will need a genuine IOS from a real router. Switches can't really be emulated (ASICs).
    You might be a quick learner, but you'll still need at least one router and switch for playing with and seeing what commands there are and how the devices act in the real world. Keep an eye out for local/ebay/etc. deals. You might also find some kit from skip/dumpster diving.
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Yes you can be pretty good in cisco without actual hardware, because you can practice labs in a virtual environment.

However you are asking if you can be good at something without practicing it? Remember you can imagine what you want to draw but it might not come out right if you are not practicing drawing what you imagined.

Mastering anything involves making all the errors you possibly can before you perfect it :)

I love Thomas Edison's quote; "I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work."