Options

RHCSA/RHCE Self-Study OS Question

ZombieNo7ZombieNo7 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been using Linux for about 6 years now mostly at home in an informal capacity, and I would like to get certified and sure up what skills I have for the professional world. I am planning to take the Linux+ then the RHCSA and RHCE exams. I figured that since the Red Hat exams are the standard, I would study for them and pick up Linux+ along the way. Since I don't have the money for the Red Hat classes, and I have taught myself everything I know about Linux already, I figured I'd go the self-study route. I have several books includng the Michael Jang ones, but when it comes to the hands-on practice a question arose, full system install or VM? I'm used to throwing myself into a given task, so my initial instinct was to install RHEL/CentOS on my primary machine. This is also my primary desktop that I use for everyday tasks, media(video and music ripping and playback), programming and some gaming(yes, in Linux). I know that RHEL and CentOS are geared towards a business environment, so many of the more recreational uses of the machine may prove troublesome. On the other hand, there's Fedora, which is similar, but will fare better as a desktop OS in which I could run a CentOS VM. For learning, which is the better option? Does it even make a difference? Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Go for at least two CentOS VMs. The Red Hat exams are based on using RHEL as a server, not as Desktop so there is no point in running it as a Desktop system.
    Working on CCNP: [X] SWITCH --- [ ] ROUTE --- [ ] TSHOOT
    Goal for 2014: RHCA
    Goal for 2015: CCDP
  • Options
    hazizhaziz Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□