CISSP Experience Requirement

NavyITNavyIT Member Posts: 171
Is there any way around the 5 year requirement for experience to take this exam? I have been working in the IT field for 4 years and feel I am ready for this test. How is your experience validated? Thanks!
A.S. - Computer Networking: Cisco
B.S. - Computer & Network Security

Comments

• IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    You only need 4 years because you have the Security+ certification. Problem fixed!
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    You need to do a thorough reading of the requirements for the CISSP certification. After doing so you will see that there are no requirements to take the CISSP exam. The five years of professional experience are for obtaining the full CISSP certification after you have passed the CISSP exam. One year of experience can be waived for a number of reasons, such as having the Security+ certification, so you only need four years of verifiable, professional work experience. I would say that you are all set to go for the full CISSP certification.
  • NavyITNavyIT Member Posts: 171
    Great reply. Very informative. Thank you. I guess I should have been a little more proactive myself, huh?
    A.S. - Computer Networking: Cisco
    B.S. - Computer & Network Security
    No prob. That what TE is here for! :D
  • Kong239Kong239 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□