Intro to forum and question on SANS Conference Class vs Mentor Class

DTrainDTrain Registered Users Posts: 3 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello TE,

Just a little background:

I've been working with systems/network for the past 7 years holding positions from Desktop Technician to Systems/Network Administrator. I have recently obtained a position in the Security Industry as this has always been my goal. Initially what I have noticed, is that this is definitely a different mindset and approach to IT. I'm finding it to be challenging but also very exciting.

I have been given the opportunity to sign up for an upcoming SANS event from my employer. Initially, I've decided to start with the SEC401 followed by pursuing to obtain my GSEC certification. I feel this will give me a solid foundation security-wise and the ability to know which way I want my security career to follow. There are a couple events next month that are around the same time. One is at a SANS conference and the other in my general region (Mentor). Although the local event is more cost effective for my company, I feel I may get more out of the boot camp at a conference only because I will be able to immerse myself completely at a conference as opposed to coming home and clocking in for my second job (proud father of two). My wife is on-board with either decision and has been very supportive.

There is a lot of info on this forum detailing the conferences. I'm curious, has anyone taken the SEC401 mentor course? If so, how did you like the smaller more intimate feel of the class? Do they do any activities after the event as they do in the conferences? I noticed that they are two hours shorter each day as well. I know it will be hard to find a comparative since most people will take either or, but just looking for examples to help me with this decision.

I will have other opportunities for SANS Events and GIAC certification in the future just wanting to know if I should kick off my first impression at a Conference.